We’re switching things up a bit here on the latest edition of The Main’s Top 10 New Tracks list. Can you guess what it is? Wait for it… we’ve organized our latest picks in reverse order! Try to create a little suspense, you feel?

10. For Esmé – You

“You” is a beautiful outpouring of intense sonic layers, drawing resemblances to a more rock, avant-garde driven Young Galaxy. The Toronto three-piece, For Esmé, pluck this single off their forthcoming album, Sugar, a record that is “about being present in the moment, and ultimately, immeasurably open to joy.”

9. Ducktails – Headbanging In The Mirror

Real Estate’s Matt Mondanile has managed to carry over his characteristic guitar licks with Ducktails. “Headbanging in the Mirror” is a whirlwind of echoey vocals and psychedelic bits. A joyfully pleasant track and soft rock at its finest. Ducktails’ forthcoming record is out on July 24. They play Casa Del Popolo August 6!

8. A$AP Rocky – Everyday (ft. Rod Stewart, Miguel, Mark Ronson)

Who would have thought, Rod Stewart on an A$AP Rocky cut? Yes, but it works, incredibly well. Taken from Stewart’s “In a Broken Dream,” his soft spoken words, glide effortlessly into Miguel’s bit and then straight into A$AP Rocky’s. What a golden track.

7. FrankySelector – No Half Steppin’

I said it first. FrankySelector will one day be up on stage with fellow Montrealers and electro-funk duo Chromeo. This latest track from FrankySelector is begging to be on your summer playlist. His record Shabby Chic arrives soon but guess what? You can catch him at Jazz Fest June 29!

6. Miguel – Coffee (F***ing) ft. Wale

Originally released in the fall, Miguel now enlists the help of Wale and makes things a bit clearer with the addition of a little something to the title of the song. As if things weren’t clear enough already… Listen to the non-radio friendly track below.

5. Dear Criminals – Slowdisco

Montreal’s Dear Criminals will open for Doldrums when they both hit the La Sala Rossa stage on July 23. So why not familiarize yourself with them? Hint: You will love “Slowdisco” if you enjoyed Jamie xx’s “Loud Places.” Dear Criminal’s EP drops May 19.

Click on the link to hear “Slowdisco”: https://dearcriminals.bandcamp.com/track/slowdisco

4. The Acorn – Cumin

There’s nothing calmer than The Acorn’s “Cumin.” It’s a track that’s filled with lush vocals over soft, looped instrumentation and playfully gentle guitar sections. Vieux Loop arrives on May 19.

3. Illitry – Wildberry

This electro track, “Wildberry,” will soon be spreading like wildfire! Getting off to a playful start the track is quickly filled with drowned out, lethargic synths and misty vocals. I can’t help but think there’s something darker brewing under the surface. Illitry’s The Sunset EP will be out this summer.

2. Sharon Van Etten – Just Like Blood

Singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten shares a slow-burner which gradually builds over the course of the four and a half minute song. “Just Like Blood” is a toned-down number with laissez-faire style guitars and drum beats. The EP I Don’t Want To Let You Down is out June 9.

1. Shamir – Darker

Here is your number one! The Las Vegas singer’s falsetto vocals shine in “Darker.” The minimalist track allows for Shamir’s stunning words to take the driver’s seat. Shamir plays Bar Le Ritz PDB June 12.

Some new tracks didn’t make the list? Tweet us @TheMain!